About National Human Rights Commission

Background, Structure & Departments

The National Human Rights Commission of Nigeria was established by the National Human Rights Commission Rights 1995 (as amended) in line with Resolution 48/134 of the United Nations General Assembly which enjoins all member states to establish independent National Institutions for the promotion, protection and enforcement of human rights.

The Commission serves as an extra-judicial mechanism for the respect and enjoyment of human rights. It also provides avenues for public enlightenment, research, and dialogue in order to raise awareness on Human Rights issues.

The National Human Rights Commission is currently headed by the Executive Secretary, Anthony Okechukwu Ojukwu Esq. Who is also the Chief Executive Officer.

office background

Anthony Okechukwu Ojukwu Esq (CEO)


Anthony O. Ojukwu Esq is the Substantive Executive Secretary of the National Human Rights Commission.

He is an avowed human rights defender and committed to improvement of systems, services and working conditions at the NHRC.  Read more...

The Departments in the administrative structure of the Commission are: Human Rights Institute, Human Rights Education & Promotion, Finance and Account, Civil & Political Rights, Economic Social & Cultural Rights, Women, Children & Vulnerable Groups, Legal Services & Enforcement, Human Resource Management, Corporate Affairs & External Linkages Directorate, Reform Co-ordination & Service Improvement, Planning, Statistics & Documentation, Directorate of Procurement and Monitoring Department

There are 4 functional units in the Commission, they include:

  • Council Secretariat
  • Internal Audit
  • Complaints Registry
  • Information & Communication Technology

The NHRC presently has State offices in all 36 states of the country and the FCT.